Mark Turner

4. Dezember 2007 / Eingestellt von thw um 08:03 /

Foto:Charlie Hopkinson

Ab gestern kann sich Mark Wallinger als Preisträger des Turner Preis 2007 einen neuen Namen zulegen. Wie bedeutsam der Preis ist, zeigt sich schon daran, dass die Preisverleihung selbst in den Fernsehnachrichten berücksichtigt wird. Dabei findet dann auch seine Performance als Bär in der Berliner Nationalgalerie, damals Gast des Berliner Künstlerprogramms des DAAD, als Beispiel einer Arbeit im Filmeinspielung Erwähnung.

Hier die offizielle Pressemitteilung von Tate Britain

The Turner Prize 2007

The Turner Prize 2007 has been awarded to Mark Wallinger, it was announced at Tate Liverpool on 3 December 2007. You can see the exhibition at Tate Liverpool until 13 January 2008.

Mark Wallinger was shortlisted for State Britain at Tate Britain, a direct representation of the banners and paraphernalia of Brian Haw's protest in Parliament Square. The jury commended its immediacy, visceral intensity and historic importance. The work combines a bold political statement with art's ability to articulate fundamental human truths.

The Turner Prize, established in 1984, is awarded annually to a British artist, or an artist from another country working in Britain, and under the age of fifty, for an outstanding exhibition or other presentation of their work in the previous twelve months. It is intended to promote public discussion of new developments in contemporary British art and is widely recognised as one of the most important and prestigious awards for the visual arts in Europe.

The four artists who have been shortlisted for the Turner Prize 2007 are Zarina Bhimji, Nathan Coley, Mike Nelson and Mark Wallinger.

The members of the Turner Prize 2007 jury are Fiona Bradley, Director of the Fruitmarket Gallery, Edinburgh; Michael Bracewell, writer and critic; Thelma Golden, Director and Chief Curator at the Studio Museum, Harlem; Miranda Sawyer, freelance broadcaster and writer; and Christoph Grunenberg, Director of Tate Liverpool (Chair).

This is the first time the Prize has been held outside of London, and is part of Tate’s programme to celebrate Liverpool as European Capital of Culture 2008.

The winner will be announced on Monday 3 December 2007. The announcement will be broadcast live on Channel 4 news, and the prize will be presented by Dennis Hopper.

Keine Kommentare: